Self Helpless

So the rails pretty much came off. Two weeks of regular blogging, it was a pretty good run. I have not been a reliable person for quite some time, maybe not ever. So two weeks was more than I expected. As far as last week goes, I rate it a 5. Incredibly shit with an awesome Saturday that mostly has made me melancholy since I don’t really have a lot of awesome days. Which leads us to this week.

Self Help Week. This can potentially lead to the type of post that I’ve avoided writing. I’m going to skip that post. I’m not a great believer in “self help” and self analysis and all that. It seems to lead me on a treadmill of indulgent self pity that’s just shy of being a bad poetry sprouting asshole. Fuck that. I’d rather just move on and get over things. I prefer to learn through experience. While I’ve racked up more regrets then rewards, I have come to terms with were I am in life and accepted it. I’d prefer that place to be better then it is, but then who wouldn’t really? My trick is to get out of my head and remember, hard as it is to believe, that not all things revolve around me.

Done. No books necessary.

If I can be arsed I might consider looking into developing a new skill. Not very likely though.

To not leave this as a downer, which it really isn’t, here’s something that got me thinking this past weekend. I watched a documentary on Beatle George Harrison. It’s called “Living in the Material World” if you’re interested and with Martin Scorsese you should be interested. There was a bit where they were talking about his song writing. At the time of the Beatles the band was basically considered (and probably still is) to be the Lennon and McCartney show that had two other guys. History had declared, and still does that Lennon/McCartney are one of the greatest song writing teams of all time. There’s an archival clip of George being asked what it was like having to compete with that. how do you pitch songs to the greatest song writers of your generation? His response was great, and was basically “Remember, I’m in the same limo as those guys. I figured if they can do it, it can’t be all that hard to write a song so I just did it.”

It’s not an earth shattering revelation. It just struck me that everything in life, and I mean everything, is about how you perceive it. How you perceive things can inspire or cripple you. The things themselves are meaningless.

I don’t know why this troubles me. I guess this was not as up beat as I thought it would be.

The End

8 thoughts on “Self Helpless

  1. I think that maybe with the self-help theme it’s not necessarily going to be a particularly upbeat week. I do like that story about George Harrison, though.

  2. Pingback: helpmyselftobelessofashitfriendweek | holdalittletighterstill

  3. Well self-help type stuff is tricky. First you’ve got to identify your problem, but then, unlike most people, rather than simply using it as a crutch, or shifting the blame to your parents/society/whatever, there is the oft-ignored step of figuring out how to overcome, or at least deal with it. And sometimes ‘dealing with’ is simply ‘acknowledging.’ Self-awareness is a great thing though, always pursue it.
    Sounds like you’re pretty much in the right direction. Hm, I feel a pontificating-y, opinion laden blog forming in my bowels….

  4. Instead of getting what you want, more about wanting what you’ve got?

    George is my favourite Beatle.. His lovely love songs like For You Blue, Old Brown Shoe and Something, and then he goes above and beyond with the likes of While My Guitar Gently Weeps, Here Comes The Sun and Taxman… I’m off to listen to some George! (Might go Travelling Wilburys though..)

    • Harrison is my favourite as well. I love his album “All Things Must Pass”. Full of songs that didn’t make it onto Beatles albums despite being way better than many of what John and Paul were doing.

  5. Some of the Beatles’ finest, sweetest moments come from George. I love Here Comes the Sun particularly. They’d have been worse off without his contribution. Great blog.

Leave a Reply

